Our Fall Project – Day 1 (August 5, 2010)

I love fall. It has always had a certain reflective, reminiscent quality for me. So, it is fitting that this fall I’ll be returning to the studio with my friend Pete Sheppard, to revisit some songs we haven’t played together in over a decade.

Last month, Pete approached me about doing some recording later this year, in the fall. It really would be just for fun, not a big deal. His idea was to dust off some of the songs from our days together in the Last American Heroes.  I was definitely interested.  For a variety of reasons, many of those songs had never been given the full studio treatment.  After the Last American Heroes called it quits in ’94, George and I worked up some rough demos of a couple new songs, but we never finished them.  Most of the songs from that period got shelved as I focused on completing and promoting the Confidential Reasons CD.  Several of the songs from the Last American Heroes live set made it onto the CD (Happiness, Someday, The Inside, and Lonely Girl) but they were arranged drastically different.

So, Pete and I have decided to dust off these gems and see what happens; and tonight was the first step. Sitting in my kitchen, we listened to some of the old demos and live recordings, reviewed lyric sheets, and just started playing. We let our guitars and voices keep the neighbors awake a little while longer.

We had so much fun playing that we’re even going to look into booking some gigs, too!

We’ll keep you updated via this blog, Twitter and my Facebook page.

Yes, I love fall. And Fall 2010 is going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

