Hot August Nights and Days

Been a busy summer, and haven’t had much time to update the blog, but making the time tonight.

Last weekend seemed like a non-stop gig! Saturday night was spent at the Red Car, revving up some old-school covers and the usual parade of RTK originals. Special guest Joe Saldana joined me on harp for a very cool version of All That Matters to close the place down.

Sunday afternoon was my first visit to Papasito’s Cantina. It used to be called Anthony’s, and was the location of our CD Release party back in January. The menu has gone from Italian pasta to Mexican tortas and burritos (big ones, too!) and the outside patio area has been updated. After enjoying the other acts on the bill, I took the new, lowered stage. My set ran about 45-50 minutes and included some more rockin’ tunes than usual. Also, I stood the entire time, which hasn’t happened in a while. A cool group called Witton followed me, and I spent some time afterwards chatting with Bob V and some of the other southbaymusicscene.com folks.

I am looking forward to next Thursday afternoon, when I get to be the inaugural act at the Beach Cities Summer Spectacular. After me, Lori Doswell and Michael Holmes will be taking the stage, so plan to stick around for a while!!

Other gigs coming up include September 2nd at Borders in Pasadena, and my first appearance at the Manhattan Beach Hometown Fair the first weekend of October.

Leave a Reply

