So, how was your weekend??

Another fun weekend of music started off with my return visit to the Red Car. The Friday night crowd consisted of a solid happy hour crew, and it was very receptive.

This time I felt a bit more relaxed, and decided to include a few more covers than usual. Apparently, I need to add Johnny Cash to my list of covers based on several requests for the Man in Black. The finale was a one/two punch: Led Zeppelin’s “Thank You” followed by Petty’s “American Girl.” No use trying to top that, so I put the Martin down and headed for the bar and ordered up another Electra Lite!! I want to thank everyone who dropped by for their support. It is so easy to play when you have supportive friends and family in the audience. Just sorry John and Janelle arrived only seconds after the echoes of the last chords died off! Hopefully, next time!

Again, this might not be the most accurate listing, but it is close:

A ROSE ON MY PILLOW, LAST NIGHT, FOLLOW YOU HEART, TIME ENOUGH FOR LOVE, LAST TEN YEARS, CAN’T HELP FALLING, WILD LAS VEGAS, WANDERIN SOUL, HERE COMES A REGULAR, 7 BRIDGES ROAD, ONE WISH, SOMEDAY, YOU COULDVE BEEN MINE

BOYS DON’T CRY, QUIET TIME, WILL YOU STILL CHANGE, AND I DID NOT KNOW, BREAK MY HEART, LET THE GIRL GO, END OF THE ROAD, LOVE HURTS, WHILE MY GUITAR GENTLY WEEPS, THE WILD ONE, FOREVER, LET ‘EM SHINE

I FORGOT TO FORGET, I HAVE TO HAVE YOU, WHEN I CLOSE MY EYES, KEEPER OF THE FLAME, WALKED AWAY, LONELY GIRL, HAPPINESS, THE INSIDE, WHISKEY AND MEMORIES, MOON COMES ROUND, THANK YOU, AMERICAN GIRL

On Saturday afternoon, I dropped in to check out Tom and Marte’s new backyard amphitheater. The celebration was Tom’s birthday, and the bands and DJ were just getting set up when, of course, I had to drag James out of the trampoline and head over to Staples for the Avengers game with Arizona.

Speaking of covers, Sunday afternoon was another rehearsal for the Pennekamp Elementary Dragon Day performance with my pal Camm’s band. This time, we did it full-on with drums, bass, and dueling, electrified Strats! It felt good to kick out the jams a bit more, and I felt quite comfortable sitting in with this group of guys who have played together for many years.

This weekend (May 6 and 7) will be my first shows at Borders, and I hope some of you can make it out to Pico Rivera or City of Industry this weekend to root me on as I visit these venues for the first time.

Oh yeah – and I updated my online radio station, too: Check out the latest version of Ooh La La, featuring tons of songs about water?!?

Leave a Reply

