Last Night

the gig:

It has been 6 years since I have performed with any regularity, and hopefully last night marks the return of more frequent appearances. I am pretty eager to get back into the swing of steady gigs. I was a bit rusty with some of the lyrics, but overall I felt it was a good time. Even playing 90 minutes straight didn’t seem to have any negative effects!

Several Doug’s stopped by: Mr. Sparks and D Murk, who stayed up waaaaaaay past his bedtime just to hang out and listen. Also, several members of Team Wells made an appearance and joined the patrons on the “dining” side of the room to take in some tunes.

Set List:

WALKED AWAY

STAY THE NIGHT

WHAT WE HAD

KING OF FOOLS

QUIET TIME

LONELY GIRL

YOU COULD’VE BEEN MINE

TROUBADOUR

FOLLOW YOU HEART

BREAK MY HEART

7 BRIDGES ROAD

ONE WISH

AND I DID NOT KNOW

WILL YOU STILL CHANGE

LAST NIGHT

A ROSE ON MY PILLOW

THE INSIDE

HAPPINESS

ALL THAT MATTERS

I have rarely played an acoustic version of Walked Away, even though it is one of favorites from the old Page 3 days. I have to admit it translated nicely. I just randomly broke into it (capo and all!) when Bob V started to tweak the sound system.

Knowing Doug Sparks would be there, I included One Wish, which we co-wrote several years ago. It has been reworked a few times since, most recently during the demo sessions with Andrew Gold. I used a version of the lyrics that was at least twice removed from current, but no one seemed to notice.

Troubadour is a “new” (unrecorded/unreleased) tune that I get more comfortable with each time I give it a test drive.

The only cover of the night was Steve Young’s great Seven Bridges Road. Not having many covers in my bag of tricks, I have been toying with adding this one for while. Obviously, a solo performance lacks the multi-part harmony of other versions (notably the Eagles) but it is fun to sing nevertheless. I will have to recount my karaoke story about this song sometime.

musings:

My friend Brad attempted to call early yesterday AM to alert me to the Los Lonely Boys appearance on some morning show. Missed the call, and also missed their 2 song set (which included Heaven) but the album is very good.

Saw Steve Jones on Craig Ferguson’s talk show late last night. Hard to believe it was 27 years ago this month that I saw him with the Sex Pistols in Memphis.

Who was it that said it never rained in Southern California, anyway???

Leave a Reply

